miles to go…

snippets from the zellner family

5,3,1 August 31, 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — zellner @ 12:00 am

Today was one of those days when I felt the strain of having a 5 year old, a 3 year old, and a 3 month old.  You know the kind of day..the three year old needs to be put down to nap while the baby is crying loudly in his bouncy seat and the five year old wants help starting her computer winnie the pooh game.  You spend an hour revolving among those three situations, trying to have patience and knowing that if you get frustrated, it will all fall apart very quickly.  The phone in our room where the three year old is sleeping interrupts the nap and wakes up a very grumpy little girl.   After a little fruit snack and a lot of cuddles, she perks up.  I think the most difficult part of the day has passed, when my husband calls out from our room,”Susan, have you seen this?” That can’t be good.   The three year old has written on my “good” sheets and my pillowcases in black pen!  ARGGG… So if you are reading this and know how to take out black pen from sheets and can pass along the tip, I would appreciate it.  And send up a prayer for a mom who is as impatient as her children are stinkers!

 

4 Responses to “5,3,1”

  1. Renae Says:

    Hi Susan, I’m Renae. I have no idea how I happened upon your site, even though it must have been recently! My husband Clay is an M.Div. student at CTS, so I know of your fam through that connection… your girls look a bit familiar, so maybe one of ours were in MMO with yours?

    Anyway. I feel your pain. Those days when you feel like all you do is go around putting out fires while imitating a whirling dervish… and I’ve had the marker-on-the-sheets experience, too. In our case, most of the marker was on our beige upholstery on the glider-rocker (Only a soon-to-be first-time parent would pick out the beige one, right? But it doesn’t look too bad for 9 years and 4 kids!).

    I think what worked to get most of the marker out was a diluted bleach solution and an old toothbrush. And a light touch and a lot of patience. But maybe that only worked because the fabric was almost white. I wonder if one of those Tide pens would work? If you try either method and your sheets aren’t white, I would use a light touch to try to preserve the color of the fabric as much as possible.

    I will end this entry by saying I am SO not Martha Stewart, or Susie Homemaker, or whatever, so giving any sort of homemaking advice puts me out of the usual realm of my expertise. But I hope this helps!

    Nice to “meet” you!

  2. zellner Says:

    thank you renae for your encouragement. Just to have someone else have had the experience reminds you that other three year olds have done this…and that one day, I am sure we will laugh about all the things that she has written on. I wish we could have met while in St Louis. nice to “meet” you to!

  3. Lani Says:

    Hey Susan,
    Love your blog! Miss you bunches. The only thing I’ve ever found to help with ink is hairspray. Spray and rub, spray and rub, etc. It can make a “raw” spot on the fabric but usually gets the ink out. Hug those babies for me. I could share some real life stories that would make you prefer “5,3,1” to “19,17,14,” but I don’t want to scare ya! Just keep thinking you’ve got it really bad right now, but things will get better when they’re older. 😉 Love ya, Lani

  4. zellner Says:

    thank you for letting me live in the delusion that I have it really bad right now 🙂 and hold on to all your thoughts and wisdom for us, so that when 19, 17, 14, etc hits, I can call you. I hope the hairspray works! thanks


Leave a Reply

