miles to go…

snippets from the zellner family

fellowship dinners (pot lucks) September 8, 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — zellner @ 4:20 am

We often go to fellowship lunches or dinners during the month and I need some recipes for things to bring that can be brought early and still be OK to eat after a sermon and Sunday school.  Any ideas? I should use my crock pot, but I really don’t know what to throw in there.  So if you have something that you like to take that is easy to put together or feeds a lot of people or is a favorite, please share! (And be very specific about what to do…I’m not such a good cook)

 

8 Responses to “fellowship dinners (pot lucks)”

  1. Megan Says:

    I haven’t forgotten you, just haven’t decided which recipe to send your way – I’ll figure something out soon!

  2. Ed Eubanks Says:

    Susan,
    I’ve always found a basic beef pot roast a great crock-pot meal. Any round roast or chuck roast will do well.

    I usually improvise as I go, so it’s hard to give a recipe. That said, the usual inclusions are: a cup of red wine, a bit of olive oil, plenty of salt and pepper, and organo, basil, and parsley in abundance. Add in some onions (dry minced are fine, or fresh) and garlic (again, powder or fresh minced), and water until the roast is nearly covered. Celery, bay leaf, red pepper, and thyme are also good to try. (Usually, instead of water I use beef boullion, stock, or consume.) Turn it on high if you’re starting it on Sunday morning; auto or low if you’re cooking it all day.

    When there’s about 60-90 minutes before you’re going to eat, add in some veggies if you want. Carrots are a great add, and cut red potatoes do well too.

    I always fix rice to serve it over; my low-country roots lead me to favor rice even if potatoes are already in there. Of course, you could always just serve it as-is.

  3. Ed Eubanks Says:

    Oh yeah– another good crock-pot option is to do Cream of Mushroom soup and chicken breasts. Do as much as you want, as long as the breasts are covered in liquid (they dry out otherwise).

    Once again, this serves well over rice. Piece of cake, and delicious. Probably fine to cook for about 3-4 hours; in other words, start it as soon as you get to church, and it will be ready when the last service is over and the food starts serving.

  4. zellner Says:

    thanks so much for the 2 ideas- Both sound like good options- They have asked the elders’ families to bring the meats so both of those sound like things I could try next weekend- I’ll let you know what happens 🙂

  5. Julie Says:

    Hi there,
    An easy favorite of ours is a crock pot meatball recipe. Just throw in a couple of bags of frozen meatballs. A can of craberry sauce and a jar of cocktail sauce. Cook on high for a couple of hours. It sounded like an odd combination to me, but it is so good!
    Talk to you soon!

  6. zellner Says:

    Great idea- we’ll just have to make sure we don’t bring it on the same night:) Are you bringing that this upcoming weekend to lunch? I am so thankful that yall are in our lives.

  7. Julie Says:

    I don’t think we have lunch this weekend unless I am completely out of it . And you know these days I am pretty out of it! 🙂 Let me know if we have something we are supposed to be at.

  8. […] more of that with her when she lived two floors above me on campus. Incidentally, Susan is seeking church pot-luck/crock-pot recipes/advice, if you have any good ones to offer, please pay her a visit! So that was just about it – left […]


Leave a Reply

