miles to go…

snippets from the zellner family

a legacy… September 23, 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — zellner @ 2:25 am

a legacy…

These are my grandparents.  They are the head of a large clan- the Graingers.  When we get together, it is fun and loud and incredibly encouraging. As my family likes to say,”The Graingers have no going home sense.” We stay until we just can’t stay any more.  Extended family can be such an incredible blessing.  I knew how we would spend holidays and birthdays and Sundays and I looked forward to it (I still do).  It provided stability, consistency, and encouragement- a sense of belonging- in what can be very challenging pre-teen and teenage years.  I think our society has undervalued extended family and in the process has lost a great blessing by not fostering those relationships.  I pray that my children will feel as connected to our family as I did to mine.  Thanks babe and popo for the example! For those of you who do not live in town with your extended family, any ideas on how to keep up the sense of connectedness with out of towners?

 

4 Responses to “a legacy…”

  1. Renae Says:

    I have a pretty close relationship with my out-of-town grandma. We keep close through letters, e-mail, and phone calls… she’s so good about dropping something in the mail to us, e.g., news clippings, old photos.

    My extended family does a better job keeping in touch with us than we do with them… my grandma, my aunt, my mom, and my dad are so good about sending packages and/or cards to the kids at holidays and birthdays.

    Some family members I keep in touch with by sending a short e-mail every so often with a recent pic of the kids attached.

    My in-laws are retired, and every summer they take the two older girls for up to a week, separately… I call these trips their “vacations,” especially for my 9-year-old, who enjoys the “break” from household and big-sister tasks.

  2. I just found your blog, and I’m so glad you have one! I will check often. It’s so good to see all of your faces. I can’t believe how big the girls are!! Crazy!

  3. zellner Says:

    stephanie_ HEY! I am so glad to get your email. I check yours often and am just figuring how to leave responses. Hogan is so precious, as are all of those sweet kids. I just love reading about her school and your ideas for what to do with them during the day. It’s an encouragement!

  4. zellner Says:

    renae- thanks for the ideas. I think when I get my digital camera problem solved, i’ll be able to email more recent pictures and feel like we are seeing life in real time. The in-law vacation sounds awesome! My girls did one overnight this summer with my inlaws, but I think a week would put her over the edge 🙂 thanks for the ideas!


Leave a Reply

