miles to go…

snippets from the zellner family

Needing some prayer May 15, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — zellner @ 11:32 pm

Today was the beginning of the weekly visits to the doctor and it started off with a surprise.  Lucy is in the breech position, so we had to talk options.  I really don’t want to have a C Section.  Dr Callison wants to do a version on Tuesday- what’s that you ask? Her description was that it is a very painful, kind of barbaric procedure in which two doctors push on your stomach and try to roll her to the right position.  She said it involves lots of screaming, but at least it won’t be a C Section. WOW.  If you know me, you know that me and pain- we are not friends!  So I am scheduled to go to Labor and Delivery on Tuesday at lunch.  She said it may start labor or break water, so have your plans in place.  Yikes!  We have kindergarten graduation, dance recital rehearsal and dance recital all that next weekend.  Who is going to do all that if I am having the baby? Pray that Lucy turns on her own by Tuesday!!

 

4 Responses to “Needing some prayer”

  1. Mary Says:

    Susan, Either Meredith or Heather were breech. They literally turned themselves from one doctor visit to the other. How they had room to do that, I have no earthly idea. But it happened. If you need me to come help with the rest of your crew, I can do that. Surely you will not have to do to have a section. This is #4, tell Baby Lucy to start flipping! You and Baby Lucy are in my prayers. Love you bunches.
    Mary

  2. Megan Says:

    Oh Susan, I’m sorry your doctor scared you like that. This happened with us and #4 also. She was considered to be transverse. Basically she was an acrobat and they said it was simply because the womb was stretched from the previous pregnancies – there was more room to move around like that.

    When I went into labor with her, they had me come in early so they could do the version. It was uncomfortable to be sure, but it wasn’t exactly PAINFUL. They did set me up on an IV and administered something to take the edge off while he (one doctor) did the version. In our case, he got her turned with no problems, but the thing they administered stopped my contractions, so Millie was in the right position, but I was no longer in labor. I wasn’t 39 weeks yet so they wouldn’t induce.

    By the next morning she had flipped back into transverse again, I was no longer in labor, and I was sent home in the same shape. 🙂

    Three days later I was scheduled to go back in, get another version and then start pitocin to get her out while she was in the right position. Three days later she put herself in the right position and no second version was needed.

    These stories turn out differently for everyone, and yes, I was terrified I’d end up with a C-Section (it’s a risk with a version – they have to tell you that, and they have to prep OR while you are getting it done in case they have to rush you over), but I don’t know how often it turns out that way.

    Anyway, that might not make you feel better at all, but from one mama of four to another, I know exactly what you are going through and will pray she flips herself around for you by just the right time.

    Love you!
    Megan

  3. Marian G. Says:

    Susan,
    Just thought you’d like to know that “my” Susan had the same thing with Lauren. The Doctor told her to come back the next week and they would turn her. Needless to say, Susan wasn’t looking forward to that any more than you are. But, sometime during that week Lauren turned herself and “everything came out ok”. Hang in there….sounds like they turn themselves more often than not. I’ll keep you in my prayers.
    Marian

  4. Sallye Says:

    Susan,
    The Zellner family is in our prayers.
    Let me know if there is anything I can do for you.
    Love ya,
    Sallye


Leave a Reply

