miles to go…

snippets from the zellner family

summertime June 20, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — zellner @ 1:56 am

I realized today that I love summertime in theory, but that I long for the routine and excitement of the school year.  Everything seems to shut down in the summer- just when I want it all to continue.  The kids are out of school and we need stuff to do-or should I say, they need something to do!  Growing up, I loved summer.  I would stay at the pool from swim team practice at 8 am until my parents made me come home near dinner time.  Friends were everywhere- at the pool all day and in the neighborhood all evening.

This season of life is totally different.  Last week was a flurry of details and events with the wedding out of town and a newborn.  I loved it!  I loved seeing all the people and having things to do and the time flew by.  The past couple of days have been slower, and I did need to rest after the weekend. But I am wondering how the rest of the summer will go with so little out there to do.  I know there will be a day when lucy is 4, cord is 5, emma is 8 and livy is 10 and we are at the pool all day until they drop into their beds 🙂 Until then, I will have to be more creative- but honestly, right now I have 15 pictures drying from the paint session yesterday and it only took 30 mintues!

 

2 Responses to “summertime”

  1. Sallye Says:

    Susan,
    In a blink of an eye those fun filled summer days with older children will be a part of your life. It seems like just yesterday that I was at the pool with my 3 guys. Wow time flies when you are having fun.
    Love to all,
    Sallye

  2. Megan Says:

    What? I can’t hear you because my ears are filled with water from the Maplewood pool.

    Okay, that’s a lie because lately I haven’t even gotten in the pool – I sit in a lounge chair in the shade, begin reading a book, and usually doze off until a kid comes over to me and shakes her hair all over me while asking, “Mom, are you awake? Mom! MOM!”

    We purposly underscheduled our summer this year and are loving it. But you are right – this is the first year the pool is fun because Millie is 4 and all four of them can swim.

    Your time will come. (groan, just what you don’t want to hear, right?) In our case it was almost easier to have four kids four and under because we never got used to doing stuff before the next one came along.


Leave a Reply

