miles to go…

snippets from the zellner family

for the birds… July 12, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — zellner @ 4:16 am

 

This morning I needed to get all 4 children out of the house, so I headed to Big Spring Park with bread to feed ducks and swimsuits for the kids to play in the fountains.  I was feeling like “good mommy” for getting them out and having a plan.  I even parallel parked the van twice! Things were going so good.  When we arrived at the park, I noticed two teenage guys crossing the street.  Olivia looked at me very seriously and said,”Mom, that boy has on shorts that are too big for him- He keeps having to pull them up and I can see his underwear. ” I didn’t take the time to talk about trends and styles at that point.  I was trying to put together the monster of a double stroller that we have.  I think it was all the focus on the stroller that preoccupied me from noticing the aggressive ducks!

We headed over to a shaded area and pulled out the bread.  Olivia, Emma and I started throwing bread to the ducks on the lake, and all of a sudden ducks and birds were coming out from everywhere diving to get our bread.  I can tell the kids are getting nervous, but if you know me, you know that I am TERRIFIED of birds.  I hate them- REALLY hate them.  The birds are flying out of the trees to get some and more ducks are swimming fast to get to us.  They are starting to form a wall and backing us into a corner.  I am literally trying to come up with an exit plan, all while my head is filled with thoughts like,”What were you thinking? You got yourself into this mess.  You know you don’t like birds- what did you think was going to happen?”

I tell the girls to throw hard and fast.  When we are out of bread, I raise my hands in the air and say,”All done!” you know- like I am telling Cord I am all done with his food.  I am hoping the ducks understand sign language!  We take off in a fast walk and never look back.  I am hoping they are not following us.  When we get a safe distance, Olivia says to me,”Mom, birds make me shiver!”  I think that is exactly how I feel.

 

One Response to “for the birds…”

  1. Sarah B. Says:

    You crack me up, Susan!! I remembered your fear of birds and actually, as I started reading this post, I thought to myself, “Susun took the kids to feed ducks?? Isn’t she afraid of birds?” 🙂 Ha! I remember you telling me about the time you took the girls to the STL zoo and you all went to the bird show…and how you hardly made it through the show!

    Olivia’s comment about the teenage boy’s short also cracked me up. She’s right–don’t those boys know that we can *all* see their underwear?! I miss you!


Leave a Reply

