miles to go…

snippets from the zellner family

School lunches July 30, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — zellner @ 5:45 am

I am already thinking about what I will send for Olivia’s school lunches.  This will be the first time we have had to do this, and it seems a little daunting.  I would love for you to share some ideas if you have some- I am trying to have a two week rotation and love to hear how others do this!

 

9 Responses to “School lunches”

  1. Sallye Says:

    Susan, as you know my lunch packing days were a long time ago, but Matthew takes his lunch on occasion. He will take yogurt(yuk), he takes turkey rollups(those look good), or leftovers. He prepares his own lunches so maybe Olivia could help with hers and she will be more apt to enjoy.
    Love to you,
    Sallye

  2. zellner Says:

    I have yogurt on the list- I need to make sure that I have a good lunchbox that can keep them cool. Dairy makes me nervous!

  3. Mary Says:

    Oh how fun. I love school supplies and it’s sad that my school supply shopping days are over. But the girls loved picking out new lunch boxes. That could be a fun outing for the two of you. Peanut butter and crackers were always a good snack to have in the lunch box. But not the kind you buy…the kind that you put the peanut butter on yourself. Much more yummy. And the girls ate school food until they realized it was not that good! When does Olivia start school?

  4. zellner Says:

    She starts on August 4th. I told her that she could eat once a week at school- I think she wants pizza day. The meals seem expensive to me. So I am going to try to pack instead. I love school supply shopping- but I ordered the pre-order box of supplies. Good in some ways, but a bummer when you think it is fun to pick new stuff!

  5. Jose C. Says:

    Three simple letters…PB&J…simple and a complete meal in a plastic bag.

  6. zellner Says:

    that is #1 on the rotation. great choice!

  7. Our parents never packed our lunches for us, hence the smashed ham (and sometimes cheese) sandwich I’d have every day. Once my dad bought a ginormous bag of Jolly Ranchers at Sams, and I somehow got out of the house a few mornings with nothing but a handful of Jolly Ranchers for my lunch. To this day, I can’t eat them.

  8. Rebecca H Says:

    For special occasions, we’d each get to pick out one of those “Lunchables” (the sliced meats, cheeses, and crackers packed to go). I loved those. Also, I always loved special snacks. Applesauce is good, and the occasional fruit roll-up or Little Debbie cake was nice too. Livy will probably want different things once she’s been able to scope out what everyone else brings. Since we packed our own lunches every day, I was always jealous of the kids whose moms did them for them. I’m sure Olivia will appreciate it!

  9. zellner Says:

    I think lunchables will be perfect for the days that I completely forget to prepare something or need to be fast that morning. I wonder how much to put in the lunch with the little time that they have to eat. looks like a case of trial and error over the next few days.


Leave a Reply

