miles to go…

snippets from the zellner family

refreshment August 28, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — zellner @ 7:45 pm

Yesterday a friend called and shared what she has been learning in our biblestudy and it was such an encouragement to me.  We are studying Joshua. It has been an encouragement as I see how God promised his people a land and that He promised that He would give them that land and be with them.  The first chapter of Joshua begins with the repetition of the phrase, “Be strong and courageous”  And the reason we can be strong and courageous is given in verse 9,”Do not be frightened, and do not be dismayed, for the Lord your God is with you wherever you go.” 

I need that encouragement.  This has been a period of struggle for me.  Many areas of my life feel like they are not flowing easily, but are marked by struggle or frustration.  I need to know that in that struggle, there is a big God, a Sovereign God, and merciful God walking with me.  My friend encouraged me to personalize the scriptures in this week’s lesson and it was so powerful. “But God, being rich in mercy, because of the great love with which he loved me, even when I was dead in my trespasses, made me alive together with Christ- by grace I have been saved” Ephesians 2:4,5

And on the long days of childcare or weighloss or relationships, He reminds me,”For by grace I have been saved through faith. And this is not my own doing; it is the gift of God, not a result of works, so that I may not boast.  For I am his workmanship, created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared beforehand, that I should walk in them.” Ephesians2:8-10

He already knew this season of life would look like this and He is with me while I walk in them.  Now, I will probably need to repeat that to myself all day 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

