miles to go…

snippets from the zellner family

Weight Watchers, here I come… November 9, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — zellner @ 11:19 am

As some of you know, I started taking off this “baby weight” a few months ago by using LA Weightloss.  I was having success and loving life, when the LA Weightloss center CLOSED its doors.  Since then, I have been pushing along by myself.  It is soo much harder for me to go it alone, so this morning I headed to Weight Watchers to find that much needed accountability. 

I have always loved the start of school, and this morning felt like I was beginning again.  New materials, new information, and new goals and dates to put in my calendar 🙂  I love the new addition of the etools where I can track all my points and use their references on line.  very fun!

The only drawback is the worldview that often accompanies programs like this.  Today, we brainstormed ways that we could put ourselves first, or as her campaign-themed material said,”Vote for myself”. I know many of you will think ”how true” it is that women don’t value themselves or that they don’t do anything for themselves, but rather give all they have to their children, husbands, or others.   But the idea of putting myself first is contrary to what our Lord says is the best way to live life.  Looking out for myself first, putting myself at the center of my day, is the worst way for me to evaluate my experience.  Me-centeredness is what gets me into messes to begin with. 

I would rather like to think of being a good steward, than putting myself first.  God has given me this body, these children, this husband, and this life.  I am called to be a help meet to my husband, a mother to these children, and a part of people’s lives in our church and world.  How do I do that the best? only by being at my best.  How can I have the energy to do these things? only if I am a good steward of my body.  I have a call to handle the gifts that I have been given with care and I see taking the time for Weight Watchers as one of the ways to do that.

So be my accountability and challenge me to be all that I can for the glory of God.  I am going to need the encouragement along the way!

 

10 Responses to “Weight Watchers, here I come…”

  1. Megan Says:

    I was just thinking today that I needed to do WW again. Sadly, I didn’t want to do it before Thanksgiving. You are amazing.

  2. Lauren B Says:

    I must say, you are awesome at staying strong 🙂 I was just telling my mom the other day it looks to ME like you’ve lost all the weight from Miss Lucy Bug and then some… I think you are looking spectacular!

  3. monicasrecipes Says:

    I’m on WW and it actually helps me feel better about the holidays. I plan on my parties and Thanksgiving and Christmas and save up flex points for the big (bad diet) days. In the past I’d say the heck with it and just pig out and figure I’d start dieting again after the holidays. No good.

    My free WW recipe website. If you have any good ones let me know and I’ll post it.

    http://www.monicasrecipes.com

  4. zellner Says:

    Megan- it was just necessity, not bravery or strength that signed me up this week!
    Lauren- many thanks for your kind words- you are an encouragement to me.
    monica- I am excited about being able to plan for the holidays and not have to lose all that weight too! I’ll take a look at your web site. It should be a big help 🙂

  5. Megan Says:

    Craig and I talked about it this weekend – I’m going to sign back up this week too – hopefully it will keep me in better check this month!

    Thanks for the inspiration!

  6. zellner Says:

    yea megan! we can do it together- if only we were in the same city 🙂

  7. Renee Says:

    I think I might have to jump on the WW train. I have done WW online before and it was helpful, but I need accountability as well. I’ll have to talk to Sam and see what we can do. I love yoga and working out, but I sure love to eat as well and I ‘m a good cook too! By the way, I have noticed your weight loss since I met you a couple months back.

  8. Marian Says:

    Susan, we have an expression in my field that I often have to remind myself:

    “I have to take care of “me” first, because if I don’t take care of “me” first, there won’t be any “me” left to take care of anybody else.”

    It sounds so selfish on the surface, but when you think about it, it makes perfect sense.

    Hang in there!

  9. Megan Says:

    Okay, I went today. Gave away $40 for a monthly pass. DURING THE MONTH OF THANKSGIVING. AND MY BIRTHDAY. AND LEFTOVER HALLOWEEN CANDY. AND THE MONTH BEFORE CHRISTMAS. AND…

    Okay, enough. I did it. I’m hungry.

  10. zellner Says:

    hahaha-you are cracking me up! You need to be a nursing mom like me and get 10 extra points. OK sorry, I didn’t need to tell you that when you are hungry 🙂
    YOU will do GREAT!


Leave a Reply

