miles to go…

snippets from the zellner family

Big Savings… December 13, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — zellner @ 11:57 am

I feel like my friend Becky…Yesterday I saved so much money with coupons!  I ordered my Christmas cards from Walgreens this year.    When I went to pay for them, the cashier printed out a $5 coupon off any photo purchase, a $2 coupon off any purchase, and a $5 coupon off any purchase.  The Sunday paper had an instore coupon that said if you order 20 cards, you can get 10 free.   So when I ordered the instore cards, I ended up using the coupons and got all 30 for free

That same day, we decided to grab food for dinner while we were out running errands.  Olivia had a coupon for a free personal pan pizza at Pizza Hut.  Emma had a $5 gift card at Wendy’s for a free kid’s meal.  We used a coupon that came in the mail to Frizzle’s for a buy one get one free chicken basket for Eric and Cord.  Our last stop was Lawler’s BBQ for a free sandwich with a coupon from that same mailer.  The whole thing cost us $4.00.  I know that is a lot of stops, but surprisingly they were all in a row on the way down University Drive. 

Sooo, even though it was a huge savings day, I doubt I would be able to do that again.  I think it was just dumb luck that I ran into all the right coupons at the right time.

 

One Response to “Big Savings…”

  1. Becky Says:

    I am sooooo impressed, oh coupon queen!
    Way to go!

    Jealous about the cards. I thought I had hit a deal by getting 60 for $5 – then realized it wasn’t that great a deal, really. Live and learn.


Leave a Reply

