miles to go…

snippets from the zellner family

Physical Therapy January 21, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — zellner @ 7:58 am

Today I had my first appointment with a physical therapist.  I have had lower back trouble since I had Olivia 6 1/2 years ago.  It gets worse as the baby gets older and heavier.  It can be very intense, but can fluctuate and the pain returns after the birth of each child.  I’ve taken anti inflammatories, done yoga (which helps alot), and tried to rest from holding babies (nearly impossible!). Well, today was an exciting day!

The physical therapist asked lots of questions, took measurements, watched me walk, performed several tests and determined it was my tailbone! As soon as she said,”I think it is your tailbone” I laughed.  I forgot to tell her I broke my tailbone on my 21st birthday.  How you might ask? Not what you may think.  I was rollerskating with Eric and our Project Uplift kids (like big brother/big sister program).  One of the children was not the best skater and as he fell, he took me with him.  “Important Information!” the P. T.  said. 

She is very optimisitc that I will be able to feel much better soon.  The first bit of therapy certainly wasn’t comfortable, but I am so excited that there is an answer and it is not surgery or needles!  Physical therapists are amazing!

 

One Response to “Physical Therapy”

  1. Thanks for your kind words about our profession. It is unfortunate that most people with back pain often think of Chiropractors before Physical Therapist. PT’s certainly have much to offer. Good luck with your recovery.


Leave a Reply

