miles to go…

snippets from the zellner family

Father’s Day June 21, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — zellner @ 9:58 am

 P1010835_0035_035

I just finished reading Kelly Corrigan’s book The Middle Place, which is her story of breast cancer intertwined with her father’s stuggle with bladder cancer.  It is funny, revealing,  and compelling.  I love her writing, which alternates from wonderful storytelling to poignant realizations.  She LOVES her daddy and I found myself underlining so many of her thoughts.

Her daddy is a powerful voice in her life.  She adores him.  At the beginning of this memoir she describes her daddy this way:

“He makes me feel smart, funny, and beautiful…He told me once that I was a great talker. And so I was.  I was a conversationalist, along with creative, a notion he put in my head when I was in grade school…He defined me first, as parents do.  Those early characterizations can become the shimmering self-image we embrace or the limited,stifling perception we rail against for a lifetime. In my case he sees me as I would like to be seen.  In fact,I’m not even sure what’s true about me,since I have always chosen to believe his version.  I could have gone either way…” (4)

And when she discovers her breast cancer, she says,”Calling home.  Instinctively.  Even when all the paperwork- a marriage license, a notarized deed, two birth certificates, and seven years of tax returns- clearly indicates you are an adult, but all the same, there you are, clutching the phone and thanking God that you’re still somebody’s daughter.” (5)

I couldn’t agree more.  I have a daddy like this.  And I am so grateful to be somebody’s daughter.  Happy Father’s day to my Daddy.  I love you!

 

2 Responses to “Father’s Day”

  1. Dad Says:

    Dear Susan,
    Thank you for the very kind thoughts for Father’s Day.

  2. zellner Says:

    love you daddy!


Leave a Reply

