miles to go…

snippets from the zellner family

Liz Hurley 5K September 21, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — zellner @ 5:42 pm

lizlogo

This October 17th, I am hoping to run the Liz Hurley 5k, Lord willing.  I have been training with a good friend three nights a week since the end of July.  I can’t believe that the race is coming so soon!  There have been so many things that I can thank God for through this process- so many things that are applicable to the Christian life.  But one that sticks out to me today is the help of a friend along the way- the power of the fellowship of believers.  My friend has faithfully run along side me for months- setting a pace for me.  She encourages and yet she challenges me all the time.  If she were only encouraging me, I would still be running one minute and walking three minutes.  Today we ran three miles.  That is more than I could have ever imagined! Today she challenged me to do more.  I didn’t want to.  I would not have chosen it.  But she knows my goal and is eager to help me get there.  I am so thankful for her.  I still have a way to go.  There are hills I haven’t even begun to train for, but for today I am very thankful for progress.

 

2 Responses to “Liz Hurley 5K”

  1. Renee Says:

    I was wondering when you were going to blog about that….I’m so proud of you! You go girl!

  2. Go Susan! It’s so gratifying when you do things you weren’t sure you were capable of. I love surprising myself, too, with what I can do. Good luck in the race (and in the next few weeks of training)!


Leave a Reply

