miles to go…

snippets from the zellner family

Auburn Homecoming November 9, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — zellner @ 3:11 pm

We were able to go to Auburn this past weekend.  It was a beautiful day. We took Olivia, Emma and Cord with us and met lots of friends at a tailgate before the game.  Cord got a new Auburn football and played all over the library lawn before the game.

october09 100

What an incredible day to see so many friends with their families.  I wish we had had more time to let the kids play together.  I could see the next generation of friendships begin to develop!

october09 099

We ate with everyone and were able to take a group shot.

october09 103

Look at all those Auburn Tigers!  I think so highly of these families- I know they are doing such a great job raising their children, working, serving in their churches.  Many of these friendships started in RUF (reformed university fellowship).  How amazing to know that we all sat side by side hearing God’s word preached- we thought about where we would work, what marriage should look like, how to parent, what the role of church is in a Christian’s life, how to glorify God in all that we do.  It was amazing to see it being lived out so many years later by these dear friends.  I wish I had more time to hear what God has been doing in these families’ lives. 

 

If you went to Auburn, you love its creed and after Saturday’s trip, I wanted to share it:

I believe that this is a practical world and that I can count
only on what I earn. Therefore, I believe in work, hard work.
 
I believe in education, which gives me the knowledge to work
wisely and trains my mind and my hands to work skillfully.
 
I believe in honesty and truthfulness, without which I cannot
win the respect and confidence of my fellow men.
 
I believe in a sound mind, in a sound body and a spirit that is
not afraid, and in clean sports that develop these qualities.
 
I believe in obedience to law because it protects the rights of all.
I believe in the human touch, which cultivates sympathy with my
fellow men and mutual helpfulness and brings happiness for all.
 
I believe in my country, because it is a land of freedom and
because it is my own home, and that I can best serve that
country by “doing justly, loving mercy, and walking humbly
with my God.”
 
And because Auburn men and women believe in these things,
I believe in Auburn and love it.
 
by George Petrie, Auburn professor and first coach of Auburn’s Football team

 

 

 

One Response to “Auburn Homecoming”

  1. Rebecca H Says:

    War Eagle!


Leave a Reply

