miles to go…

snippets from the zellner family

Booking it in 2010 January 5, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — zellner @ 11:26 am

I heard about this idea on www.lifeasmom.com.  She put out a challenge to focus on reading this year and encouraged us to pick from whatever we like to read.  Focus on topics you like, reread something you loved, try something new.  Yesterday, I read Why Johnny Can’t Preach by T. David Gordon.  He is coming to our Theology Conference this weekend and I wanted to have read his book before I heard him speak. 

I am looking for good suggestions for books for this year.  I feel like I have not been in a bookstore in years, a place I used to go all the time for hours! I have been in a number of great bookclubs over the years and loved having the accountability as well as the ideas that come from regularly meeting with others to talk about our books.  Now I need help! What have you read that you loved- fiction, nonfiction, biography, etc.  Share your ideas please!!

 

3 Responses to “Booking it in 2010”

  1. Megan Says:

    Sadly my booklist from last year is all but nonexistent. I read all of the books from Sonlight Core 3/4 and one lone work of fiction over the summer.

    I’m trying to fix that problem now.

    Currently in the middle of The Namesake by Jhumpa Lahiri and am really liking it.

    That’s about all I’ve got for you. Sorry!

  2. zellner Says:

    You are always an encouragement to me about reading! I can’t wait to hear about what you are reading this year. (in between all your sewing, homeschooling, working, cooking, etc)

  3. Dear Susan,

    I highly recommend “Why Johnny Can’t Preach” and “The Roots of Endurance.” I read “The Count of Monte Cristo” twice when I was in High School, and loved it.

    Some recommendations:

    Paul Johnson’s “Modern Times”: Splendid history of the 20th century.

    Marilynne Robinson’s “Gilead”: My review – http://charliewingard.blogspot.com/2006/11/gilead.html

    If you like mysteries, P.D. James “A Certain Justice.”

    Blessings,

    Charlie


Leave a Reply

