miles to go…

snippets from the zellner family

reading list January 6, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — zellner @ 8:49 pm

NOT ONE SUGGESTION! I can’t believe it.  I know you are readers out there- you must be too busy to share ideas 🙂 So, I googled “Best books ever” and scanned the list to make a reading list for the year.  I added a couple that I have been wanting to read as well. Some of these I have read before, but it has been a long time- so here’s we go.  Join with me and we can talk about them or just keep me accountable 🙂

Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

The Count of Monte Cristo by Alexandre Dumas

Anne of Green Gables byLucy Maud Montgomery

Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card

A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini

The Fountainhead by Ayn Rand

The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold

The Road by Cormac McCarthy

The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood

Cold Mountain by Charles Frazier

Marley and Me by John Grogan

The Roots of Endurance by John Piper

The Prodigal God: Christianity Redefined Through the Parable of the Prodigal Sons by Tim Keller

Finished:

Why Johnny Can’t Preach by T David Gordon

The Fruit of her Hands by Nancy Wilson

 

5 Responses to “reading list”

  1. Becky Says:

    I’m presently reading The Good Women of China and it is heart-wrenching and so well written. The author is Xinran. Also, I read Janet Evanovich’s Plum series last year (15 books) and laughed outloud and continuously during each one. There is NOTHING Godly about them, but they are entertaining mysteries. Oh, and at Sue Pitzer’s recommendation, I am reading Almost 13 and LOVING it.

    Just thoughts. 🙂
    I love you.
    Becky

  2. Cynthia Says:

    Hey Susan-I liked you idea and your list. Over the holidays, I had a friend ask me what I was currently reading. I am almost always reading something; but, to my dismay, in trying to answer my friend’s question I realized I had stopped reading. So, I am getting back into reading and would love to compare notes or have an informal book club with you and anyone else. I have the Lovely Bones, started but never finished. I also have the first three books on your list and have read all but the Count of Monte Christo.

  3. Ellise Adams Says:

    A Thousand Splendid Suns is so moving yet so disturbing. I read it last year. It tells the plight of women in Muslim countries. I have a copy if you want to borrow it.

  4. zellner Says:

    Ellise- I would love to borrow it. I am looking forward to reading it. I had read the Kite Runner and was eager to do that one next.

    Cynthia- I know exactly how you feel- I used to read all the time! I am going to get one in my hand and I will let you know what it is and we can meet together- and invite anyone else if they want to come! YEA for Book clubs!


Leave a Reply

