miles to go…

snippets from the zellner family

Finished January 21, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — zellner @ 11:54 pm

I just finished Anne of Green Gables and wish that I already had Anne of Avonlea in my hands.  Such a wonderful story.  There were so many quotes that I wanted to read out loud to Eric as I read.  I literally did wake him up when I was reading last night to share a section I thought was so well written. (He sweetly listened and then fell back to sleep)  I love Anne’s passion and her genuine response to life.  She is so grateful for all that she has and she tries so very hard to do her best, and yet makes so many mistakes.  I love her confessions and her repentance.  I love the relationships that develop- the beauty of her friendship with Diana, the support and admiration that she has in her relationships with her adopted parents, and the tension that she has with her number one nemesis, Gilbert.  I have found myself wishing that we could see what life was like- that we could visit just for a little while and see the White Way of Delight, the Lake of Shining Waters, the Haunted Woods, and all the other places that are described so thoroughly.  As soon as I get a chance, I am going to watch the movie too.  So good.

 

9 Responses to “Finished”

  1. Cynthia Says:

    Will bring the book to church on Sunday. In fact I have the whole series. Once you get started, it may be hard to stop.

  2. zellner Says:

    Thank you! I can’t wait. It may put my original list on hold until I can finish reading about Anne 🙂

  3. Thanks for telling about this. I’m reading the series, the Love Saga by Jeanette Oke right now. They’re about a family of settlers in early America and I’ve never read anything like this. I’m usually into much more modern fiction. But I’m loving it. You may want to give it a try when you’re ready for a new series. They were written around the time I was born so they’re really old but the good news is, they’re never checked out at the library like new release books are!

  4. zellner Says:

    Kristin!- thank you so much for the suggestion. I will put it down. I think about you and your sweet kids and your new business- I don’t know when you find time to read- Wish we were in the same city and could hang out 🙂

  5. I’m so thankful for your book list and ANNE OF GREEN GABLES. I’m loving it and can’t put it down. Friends went there on vacation after reading her book and said it was much like what was described in the book. Lets plan a vacation there!!!!

    Finding something wonderful in every situation is a great mind set to remember.

  6. zellner Says:

    Dot- I am so glad that you are reading it too! Can’t you just see the girls getting to listen to it aloud and enjoying it! I looked up the vacation plan too and thought how in the world we could go. Can’t wait to talk to you about the book and hope you are having a wonderful time!

    • Got the book on tape and c-Dub and I enjoy it at meal times. Can’t wait for your girls to be old enough to have it read to them. Reading Anne of Avonlea. Can’t put it down. Loving our time in Fla. Praying for your mom and you all this coming weekend.

  7. Rebecca H. Says:

    Susan, now I want to read this! Have you watched the movie yet? I haven’t seen it in forever, but loved it as a kid. You’ll have to tell me if it’s as good as I remembered.

  8. zellner Says:

    I haven’t watched it yet rebecca- we need a movie night after the kids go to bed 🙂


Leave a Reply

