miles to go…

snippets from the zellner family

Next January 27, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — zellner @ 12:15 am

Today I picked up The Hiding Place by Corrie ten Boom.  I have read it a couple of times before, but it has been a long time and I am so happy to be reading it again.  Just tonight, I came across one of my favorite quotes.

When we were in seminary, a wise lady who lived below us and who had two older daughters than ours shared with me how she explained tough things in her daughters’ lives.  Sometimes children ask questions that are very difficult to explain.  Sometimes the answer would include topics that they are just too young to understand.  She said that she quoted Corrie ten Boom’s father from The Hiding Place. 

Corrie and her father were traveling by train and in the precious moments of alone time with her father, Corrie asks for an explanation of a term that she had heard in school.  She had already tried to ask her mother, who “blushed scarlet” when Corrie asked her.  Her father answers her by asking her to carry his traveling case for him off the train.  Corrie tried and after tugging and pushing, she admits it is too heavy for her.  Her father answers,”And it would be a pretty poor father who would ask his little girl to carry such a load.  It’s the same way, Corrie, with knowledge.  Some knowledge is too heavy for children.  When you are older and stronger you can bear it.  For now you must trust me to carry it for you.”  Corrie’s response to this answer- Was it anger at not being told the definition? Was it pouting that she couldn’t know all that her parents did? No, she says,”And I was satisfied.  More than satisfied-wonderfully at peace. There were answers to this and all my hard questions- for now I was content to leave them in my father’s keeping.”

I have used this ever since my friend shared this with me and it has helped so much when I cannot answer my children fully just yet.  They have started asking hard questions with the preface,”This may be one of those questions that is too hard for us to hold, but…”

I am so eager to finish reading The Hiding Place.  I know I will be inspired by the ten Booms and their self sacrificing love for those they hid and helped during the Nazi invasion of Holland, but today I am thankful for the beautiful parenting that I get to read about as well.

 

One Response to “Next”

  1. Cynthia Says:

    Susan,

    I really appreciated this post and the sharing concerning hard questions. I am currently asking God some “why” questions and while I may never get the answers in this lifetime; I can rest in knowing the answers are in my Father’s keeping.

    Keep reading and blogging about it,
    Cynthia


Leave a Reply

