miles to go…

snippets from the zellner family

The Hiding Place January 28, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — zellner @ 12:55 pm

I finished The Hiding Place last night.  It is a beautiful story of God’s faithfulness to His people during the most unimaginable horrors.  I had forgotten that Corrie ten Boom is middle aged when she begins her work to help those who are hiding from the Nazis.  A woman whose main occupations have been a watch repairer, bookkeeper and housekeeper ends up being the head of an organized underground resistance that saved hundreds and hundreds of lives.  She is arrested, beaten, and starved- the prison cells that she lives in are bare and cold, the concentration camps are crowded, flea and lice infested and unbelievably cold.  And yet she and her sister take their faith into these places, into these circumstances, and they still know that God is good. Some of the most beautiful passages are those that describe how Corrie is able to keep her Bible with her.  She finds a way to hide it or a guard misses it.  That Bible is used to minister to the lonely, frightened, hurting people everywhere the two sisters go. The truth of God’s word pushes out the darkness that surrounds them on every side. 

While in a concentration camp in Germany, Corrie’s sister, Betsie, is very ill and is close to death.  She tells Corrie they,”…must tell people what we have learned here. We must tell them that there is no pit so deep that He is not deeper still.  They will listen to us, Corrie, because we have been here.”  And that is exactly what Corrie does.  She spends the rest of her lilfe taking care of those that are released at the end of the war and who are broken and hurting, physically, emotionally and spiritually.  She talks to thousands about her experience and shares with them how God was faithful and how He still is.  How small seem the problems in my comfortable home when I read such a powerful book.  How good to know a God who is so faithful- come what may!

 

5 Responses to “The Hiding Place”

  1. Lyra Says:

    I LOVE this book, Susan! I read it with Gage and then read it again later. I actually decided at one point that I should read it yearly, so thanks for reminding me! It is a powerful book and a great reminder of just how big God is and how much He cares for us.

  2. Jennifer Says:

    I love this book too. It’s so powerful, and her faith is beyond amazing. But rather, she would want me to say, that God’s faithfulness to her is VERY AMAZING! One part that really stuck with me is the part about the fleas in their room. Something that you would think would be just absolutely terrible, she saw as a blessing because the guards stayed away and didn’t bother them. WOW! how I wish I could look at troubles in my life and see them as a blessing, rather than a curse. Now I want to read it again! 🙂

  3. zellner Says:

    Lyra and Jennifer- how fun to hear from both of you! Wish we were all in St Louis and we could sit at Starbucks and remember all the wonderful parts to this book! Jennifer- I was going to write about that very part as one of the ways that God used her circumstances to hide her Bible. What an amazing testimony that Betsie thought to thank God for the fleas before they even knew what how the horrible bugs were going to protect them. Lyra- I can’t wait to read it with my children. We aren’t there yet, but how exciting for when we are! Blessings to you both!

  4. kristy Says:

    Hello! I am a visitor via Megan @HalfPintHouse.
    But the familiarity of the suitcase story has brought me out of lurking. 🙂
    That is just one of the stories of The Hiding Place that has alwaysalways stayed with me, and I too have used it with my own kids.
    I’m grateful for those stories of faith from those who have gone before! Thanks for the dear reminder.
    Blessings!

  5. zellner Says:

    kristy- so good to hear from you. I love seeing how God uses the same book to impact so many families! hope to hear from you again!
    susan


Leave a Reply

