miles to go…

snippets from the zellner family

scenes from the retreat February 8, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — zellner @ 11:25 am

What a blessing the weekend turned out to be.  The retreat came together and Mary Beth gave us much to think about and to encourage us.  Our cabins at Doublehead Resort were so nice.  And their staff was professional and kind!

This place is beautiful- and we were there in misty cold weather!

We celebrated a friend’s birthday while we were there.  Jennifer is a blessing to our church and her family serves us all in so many ways.  I am so thankful for her! In honor of her birthday, Renee made mini cupcakes from the January Southern Living.  I was thinking we would have about 5 dozen and all of us would get one-I should have known that Renee would do more than I could expect! She delivered 15 dozen treats and here is what they looked like:

  

Aren’t  they amazing?!  They were as delicious as they were beautiful.  You may wonder who took all these fabulous photos? Not me.  A talented photographer in our church, Tracy, took these and had them on her facebook page.  Her eye for capturing beauty amazes me.  The ladies that I mentioned are vital parts of our church and good friends to me personally.  How thankful I am for their gifts!  I think from this post you get a glimpse into the variety, talent, and beauty that makes up a church- Some speak, some organize, some cook, some create, some serve, some support.  And the result always brings glory to the God who made us.

 

6 Responses to “scenes from the retreat”

  1. Renee Says:

    We TRULY are blessed here at this church! We were so blessed to have you organize this fabulous weekend! You mean so much to so many of us Susan! You have a beautiful heart and you wrote such a beautiful post! Thank you for all you do!!!

  2. C-Dub is having a reaction and I wish the mini cupcakes were beside him at this very moment. With tears he said “She makes a great minister’s wife doesn’t she?”

  3. zellner Says:

    dot and c dub,
    You don’t know how much that means to me. What a sweet thing to think and to share with me. I honestly pray that I won’t be a hindrance to eric- I can be more trouble than good! I wish you had one of those cupcakes. They were soooo good. Maybe we can make some together soon. ((hugs)) we miss you!!

  4. Cynthia Says:

    Susan,

    What a wonderful job you and your helpers did in organizing the retreat! In fact, I need to say it again-well done! Location-great (I had been there before at a previous WPC WIC retreat), speaker-great, she gave us much to ponder, enjoyed the small group time, great food, snacks, coffee and a fun craft project. The staff at the lodge were so gracious. I am so thankful I went.

    Cynthia

  5. Mary Says:

    Susan, the whole weekend sounds like it was wonderful and truly a blessing. It is amazing how the ladies from your church all bring something different to the table.

    I love the cabins. You could pretend you were Laura Ingalls Wilder! This might be a fun place to try a family reunion one of these days.

    And the cupcakes…yum! I am envious.

    Love to all!

    Mary

  6. zellner Says:

    Mary! Very good idea for family reunion- in the spring or summer that place would be so beautiful. It has horseback riding, an awesome pool and beach entrance to the lake. We would have so much fun!


Leave a Reply

