miles to go…

snippets from the zellner family

Valentine’s dinner February 14, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — zellner @ 11:24 pm

This year, like every other, we had our family Valentine’s dinner on Saturday night.  We usually do red, pink and white foods, but this year we had breakfast for dinner.  We made homemade waffles, scrambled eggs, bacon, berries, and cinnamon rolls.  Not too diet friendly, but sooo good.  The kids help me set the table and they got to use real plates 🙂 (We have a drawer full of plastic plates for all our meals for the kids)

 

The kids were giving you their best Vanna White.  

The other tradition that we have is to write out what we love about each person and read them out loud at dinner.  I write for all the kids and Eric does his plus all the kids’ notes for me.  It never fails; I can hardly make it through without crying.

Some of my favorites are from Olivia to Cord,”You are getting better at potty training.  You always have a smile on your face every day.  I love how you care for people.”   From Cord to Lucy,”I love her.  She screams.  She plays.”  Emma to Dad,”I love you because you let me pour my own drink.  I love your strength and how on a cold night you snuggle with me.”  And finally Cord to Daddy,”Daddy plays with me.  We play and no one else.  I like to ride in the burban in my seat.”

I think it is so important for our children to hear us say what we love about them and what we appreciate about them.  They, in turn, also get to verbalize what they appreciate about each other.  They seem a little shy at first when they are saying something nice to one another, and the person’s smile who is being honored just grows and grows as we go around the table.

The second thing I think that is so important is that they hear how much I love Eric and what I appreciate about him specifically.  I want them to remember that mommy loves daddy very much and that she is thankful God had blessed her with this husband.

We ended our fun with the Olympics! The girls are huge fans.  We snuggled under a blanket and watched women’s free style moguls 🙂

 

 

7 Responses to “Valentine’s dinner”

  1. Amanda Says:

    Susan,
    This was the SWEETEST post! I teared up reading it, and you have inspired me. I think the notes on Valentine’s Day is such a great idea! I think I’ll have to steal it. Someday they’ll be able to go back and read the note that their then-2-year-old brother wrote about how much and why he loves them. So cool. We don’t verbalize love enough, in my opinion, and this gives them such an opportunity.

  2. Renee Says:

    You are the best mommy ever! I love this post!

  3. zellner Says:

    You are both very encouraging! I wish everyone had a chance to do this- It has made Valentine’s one of my favorite days of the year!

  4. Carlin Says:

    I always look forward to your Valentine’s Day posts because I know exactly what you are going to say. The food is always red and pink and in heart shapes (with the exception being this year) and you always share what you love about each other. By far my favorite Zellner family tradition!

  5. zellner Says:

    carlin- I am not very original and a creature of habit 🙂 I always need to make sure I start habits that are good because I rarely change my ideas! Love you and miss you and want to catch up!

  6. Mary Says:

    Can I come to dinner next year? Thank you for making me smile!

  7. Our hearts have melted. The tradition of love and family togetherness blesses beyond measure. You focus on what is truly important. Computer hasn’t worked in a week. Finally got help. Thanks for catching us up.


Leave a Reply

