miles to go…

snippets from the zellner family

Shredding chicken April 30, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — zellner @ 6:41 pm

My freezer cooking life has CHANGED! I have been freezer cooking for 5.5 years and have shredded more chicken than you can imagine.  This week was going to be a crazy week.  I wondered whether there was an easier way than boiling my chicken (18 lbs) and shredding it with two forks when it was done.  Some in our freezer cooking group don’t love boiled chicken, so they have tried other ways to cook it before shredding. I have always just boiled it~ until today! 

Two days ago I looked up ways to cook and shred chicken and came across someone’s blog about it.  It has changed my life! You put the thawed chicken breasts in a crock pot with water covering it.  Put the crockpot on low and leave it for 6 hours.  Next, dump out the water.  I cut off any pieces that I didn’t like (fatty 😦 ) and then I used my handmixer on medium to shred the chicken! It took two minutes! I bagged it and put it the fridge for our freezer cooking tomorrow. WOW~ I cannot believe a hand mixer can do that.  Did you all know this technique?  I am not a cook, so this was news to me!

 

4 Responses to “Shredding chicken”

  1. Becky Says:

    And I didn’t think I could love you more than I already did. WOW. What a super tip.

    SO jealous of your freezer cooking.

  2. Mary Says:

    I did not know that. And I will be trying the technique this weekend. I’m pressed. Hope your day is going better. Miss all of you!

  3. Cynthia Says:

    Susan-thanks so much for sharing this helpful hint. I will passing this along to family and friends, especially my daughter who is about to get involved with freezer cooking. I have been encouraging her in this area because I heard such great things about it from you. Women helping women, I love it.

  4. Wow! Great tip. I’m going to use that. I hate shredding with two forks! I can’t believe you’d ever do 18 lbs at a time! Dang!


Leave a Reply

