miles to go…

snippets from the zellner family

3rd grade thanksgiving November 18, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — zellner @ 2:33 pm

Olivia’s class did their Thanksgiving celebration differently than past years.  Usually our classes have had a wonderful Thanksgiving feast and played games or performed for parents.  Olivia’s grade visited a nursing home and performed a play about Thanksgiving.

They sang hymns, shared verses and played the handbells.

 

Finally the students had made handkerchiefs to share with the residents.  Olivia introduced herself to a lady and it turns out the lady used to be an elementary teacher.

It can be difficult to get used to a nursing home environment, but I think the more exposure to all stages of life, the better.  I want my children to be confident to greet and speak and welcome individuals.  I know the joy it can bring to the residents and I hope these interactions spark a desire in my children to serve and love on those who need relationships.  Again, I am thankful for a school and a teacher that fosters this in my child’s life!

 

Leave a Reply

