miles to go…

snippets from the zellner family

Pumpkin cookies November 24, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — zellner @ 4:45 pm

I went on a pumpkin buying spree earlier in the year.  Since there was a shortage of it last year, I went crazy the first time I saw it on the shelves and bought lots and lots!

Tomorrow we are hosting Thanksgiving lunch at our house and I wanted to make something with my pumpkin supply  🙂

I found this recipe for pumpkin butterscotch cookies and the kids and I went to work.  Normally, I do not “enjoy” cooking with children.  Too many questions, too many hands, too many bodies in the kitchen. But this turned out to be a pretty good experience~ mainly because I am not in a hurry today. 

Ingredients: 2.5 c of flour, 1 tsp of baking soda, 1 tsp of baking powder, .5 tsp of pumpkin pie spice, .5 tsp of salt,  .5 c of butter (softened), 1 c of pumpkin puree, 1 large egg, 1 tsp of vanilla, and 1 c of butterscotch chips.

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees.  Sift together the first 5 ingredients in a bowl.  In a large bowl, cream together the softened butter and the sugar until light and fluffy.  Stir in pumpkin, egg, and vanilla.  Add the dry ingredients to wet ingredients and mix to combine.  Stir in the butterscotch chips.  Drop by rounded tablespoons on to a greased cookie sheet.  Bake for 18 minutes or until you see firm edges.  Remove and put on to a rack to cool.

They were sooo good. I have had too many already and it isn’t even Thanksgiving yet!

 

Leave a Reply

