miles to go…

snippets from the zellner family

Jackets everyone February 27, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — zellner @ 11:56 pm

Emma had her 7th birthday Saturday.  She is always one to come up with an idea and want to see it fully developed just as she imagined it.  This year she wanted to have a jacket party.  I ask her to tell me what that means. She tells me that everyone will come in their jackets and we can have a jacket cake and do things with our jackets and do crafts about jackets (since her birthday is in February).  I have a good friend who is a marvelous cake maker and decorator and she did a great job making a pink and green jacket cake.

She loved it.  And so did all my family.  It was delicious 🙂  On to activities… We made two relay teams and did several races.  In the first one, they had to run and put their jacket on and run back, tag the next person and that person would run and put on her jacket and then run back.  The second race had them run down and turn all the coats inside out and then run down and turn them right side out.

Next I gave each team 2 rolls of toilet paper and asked them to create a jacket on a “willing” model.  Turns out the willing models were eric and my dad 🙂

They decorated Joseph’s coat of many colors and then opened presents.  After the cake and ice cream, they played and played outside. It was a beautiful day and I am so thankful that my family could be here to participate too. I would have NO pictures without Marion’s camera and her help.  I am so thankful for that!

Happy Birthday sweet Emma- you are spunky, delightful, funny, tenderhearted, and full of life.

 

6 Responses to “Jackets everyone”

  1. Dad Says:

    I’ll try to be as strong as the big AU Oaks.
    Dad

  2. zellner Says:

    We’re just glad some angry fan didn’t poison you 🙂

  3. Mary Says:

    I think John looks like he is in a straight jacket.

  4. Sallye Grainger Says:

    I agree, Mary.

  5. zellner Says:

    I think that was the “Jacket” that they were going for. He was a good sport!

  6. Dad Says:

    That is a “Charmin” coat. Don’t squeeze the Charmin.


Leave a Reply

