miles to go…

snippets from the zellner family

Day 2 of a life of a SAHM June 22, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — zellner @ 11:02 am

I woke up a little later than normal.  I stayed up reading a book for a book club I am in with some ladies from my children’s school.  Greeted 3 of the 4 children.  Lucy woke up after me.  I got her, changed her and brought her downstairs.  She is usually ready for breakfast.  Eggs…so I scramble some eggs for her and for Cord. He has already eaten with eric but thinks eggs sound good too.  I wash blueberries for both of them.  They eat while I clean the pan and dishes. Cleaning the scrambled egg pan is the only reason I dread making the kids breakfast.  We want to go to the pool today, but it is looking doubtful because of the weather.  I try to brainstorm whether we should look up places to go such as library story time or whether we should hang out at home and relax.  The kids are watching cartoons.  I remember two things to tell Eric- I call him about an email that needs to go to the youth group and to ask about our Direct TV issue.  We talk for a few minutes and I call Direct Tv.  The babies have been playing upstairs.  It is loud, but in a good way.  The TV that is having trouble is upstairs, so I spend 20 minutes on the phone doing what the Direct Tv guy tells me to do, while trying to tame the little monkeys that are having a great time playing.  I run the dishwasher. Olivia needs to write her thank you notes from her birthday party.  She writes the first 8, while I look up the addresses online.  The babies want to have a dance party again and turn on the Wiggles.  Thankfully they can do that without much parental supervision.  There have been a couple of accidental hurts this morning.  Lucy fell into some furniture dancing and needed some loving.  Cord gave her too hard of a shove in a moment of excitement.  They needed to be walked through apologizing to one another.  Olivia and Emma were being silly wrestling on the floor and they injured each other. Thankfully they can work theirs out without much intervention. 3 of the 5 of us are still in our pajamas- the other two are in their favorite costumes.  I plan on going to Kinko’s later today to scan some photos for my reunion, pack the big girls for our trip, and study for tonight’s Women’s event.  I better do some of that before lunch.

Update#1 It ended up pouring down rain.  Direct TV has given us some free channels, so my kids watched the Flintstones.  They love that show.  I read some of the World magazine that I got yesterday. They all change into clothing to go to kinko’s, brush teeth, get shoes, and head out the door.  I grab my photos and the email of the guy putting our video together.  We arrive at kinko’s. I give them a pep talk before we go in that reminds them of the best way to behave and how helpful it will be for me if they can cooperate.  We march inside and I am pointed to a computer station- no instructions.  I am a little worried that I will be able to concentrate and figure out how to get this done with the little ones in tow.  It gets worse when I realize that the computer is $.30/ minute.  I imagine owing $50 before I leave this place. There are others working and I am also thinking how my little ones are probably driving them nuts too!  Somehow what I thought you should do to scan and send the pictures actually works.  In between all the scanning and sending, I have to REPEATEDLY tell the children to stop touching the other computers, to quit swiveling in the chairs, to quit wrestling on the floor, to quit crying, to sit up, to stop using the mouse on the other computers, to not tear my photos.  I finally make it out of there only owing $9.50.  We talk on the way home about what I had asked them to do and how it turned out. I am thankful for their tender hearts, but also eager for them to help on the front end, rather than have to apologize on this side of it.  We get home and have lunch.  Chicken nuggets, strawberries, blueberries (yes- more blueberries) and cheeseballs- the kind from Sam’s has been a favorite since Aunt Bethie gave them some at the beach.  The musical instruments come out and it is loud for awhile.  When it is time for nap, I already hear crying in the room that they are playing in- that is what tiredness looks like in little Lucy.  She gets changed into a pull up and I read to her.  She goes down with a song.  Cord is up next. We read Go Dog Go. We sing and he goes to bed.  The girls are working on reading while I am upstairs. Both are reading an Amelia Bedelia book.  Emma needs to read out loud to me so I can make sure she is catching the words and practicing well.  It can make me a little crazy sometimes. She is trying. It is just hard to be patient when a word seems so easy! I think she is looking all around at the pictures and making sure she is sounding out the right thing.  When we finish, they make a list of what they need to pack to go to Birmingham tonight. They do not know that we are going to Atlanta as well to the AMERICAN GIRL STORE!! Aunt Bethie is taking us to Atlanta and we are celebrating Olivia’s birthday by having tea at the store. so fun!!! So I am guiding them to pick the right things to take without telling them what they are doing. I don’t think that they suspect anything, and they are very excited to be visiting with grammy and beth.  I am tired and want a nap, but think I should study a little for tonight and pack myself!! Clothes for bham, for Atlanta and the American Girl store, and for my reunion.  LOTS of packing 🙂

**Update #2  While the kids slept, we packed.  The girls brought down what they were going to bring. Then I spent too long packing for my trip. Olivia finished her last set of thank you notes.  I attempted to work on Wednesday night stuff again. Just not liking how it is organized and want a light bulb that will help ladies process what barriers are in our relationship building, what truths we have in common that make the foundation of our relationships possible, and what ways we could build/foster deeper relationships in our church.  Praying for God’s work and His words.  I talked to my dad a little bit and read some emails.  I packed our car and got SOAKING wet.  The babies both wake up.  They need snacks.  Olivia and Emma both need to shower before we leave for church.  Both require me starting the shower and checking their hair to make sure all the soap is out. They clean up, put dirty clothes away, make their beds and clean their rooms so all will be left neat.  I strip Lucy’s bed and put her sheet and blanket in for a quick wash.  I have to get that dry before her bed time! Lucy wants a ponytail, Emma needs help brushing out her hair, we lose the remote for a little bit and do a search of the den.  I am heading into dinner prep- Thankful for BBQ chicken that I made already.  I’m adding broccoli and watermelon (not to the chicken~just to the plate :0 ) It is still raining.  I unload the dishwasher.  We will be heading to church around 6:00.

**Update #3~ We had a great time at church.  The kids went to their programs and I led a small group of ladies in a review of our women’s retreat and a discussion of having REAL relationships in our lives and the best formats to aid that kind of relationship.  At the end of church I loaded the girls in my car and Eric took the babies. Cord was one sad little boy that he could not go in the “Saturn to Birmingham with the big girls.”  The big girls were crying because their little buddy was so sad.  Both groups had to be encouraged to trust their parents that we had their best in mind.  We made it to Bham around 10:00 and visited with Grammy! We had a great time playing and then I put the girls to bed.  I talked a little longer with Mom and then headed to bed, excited about our big day the next day!

 

Leave a Reply

