miles to go…

snippets from the zellner family

I turn to Wisdom not my own… January 14, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — zellner @ 11:46 pm
Tags: , ,

I drove down to mom’s on Thursday afternoon- by myself.  As I was packing, I realized how precious that time would be and I wanted to make sure I brought my music that would remind me of what is true on that journey home.  Getting into a car and shutting yourself in a world with only music filling the air has been one of the ways I have processed life since I began driving. In celebration, in sorrow, in confusion, in awe, I have often used time in the car to really experience those feelings and this car trip was no exception.

Many of you know that I love Keith and Kristyn Getty’s music.  They are modern hymn writers from Ireland, whose music and lyrics exude the glory of God while reflecting our truest feelings.  I played that CD over and over and sang with tears streaming down my face all the way home.  It was beautiful to be able to grieve the loss, the pain, the “wrongness” of it all and yet through red eyes still see Christ.  It is His unwavering work that I have hope in- not mine, not my ability to keep going, not my strength to make it, but His perseverance of His saints.  Isaiah says about Him,”You will keep him in perfect peace, whose mind is stayed on You, because he trusts in You.” (Is 26:3)  “Yet my unfailing love for you will not be shaken, nor my covenant of peace be removed.” says that Lord who has compassion on you (Is 54:10)

This song speaks to that duality of living between the here and now (after the fall) and the not yet (heaven).

When Trials Come by the Gettys

 

2 Responses to “I turn to Wisdom not my own…”

  1. thebluehutch Says:

    Susan- I cried reading this. I am so sorry for your loss and agree with what you wrote about this song allowing one to grieve and see Jesus simultaneously. I love y ou, Becky

  2. Megan Says:

    I just saw all of this and my heart is heavy for you and your family right now. I’m so sorry, Susan. So very sorry.


Leave a Reply

