miles to go…

snippets from the zellner family

Even a princess… January 24, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — zellner @ 10:54 am

Has a little laundry.

Over the past month, I have done TONS of laundry for the six of us.  I usually do it on Mondays- all the children are in school that day and I can get started and work on it throughout the day.I usually have huge piles that have to be taken upstairs by each child. The past month something has been different.  Olivia, Emma and Cord still have very large piles. But Lucy hasn’t had a pile. Why? Because she has been wearing DRESS UP since Christmas.

     

  

Every day. Everywhere. All the time.

As soon as she wakes up, she changes into a princess dress before she walks downstairs for breakfast.  She stays in dress up (unless she is going to school or church) all day. She naps in a dress.  She goes to the YMCA in a dress. She grocery shops in a dress.  She lounges around the house in a dress. Eric convinced her that Belle sleeps in green and pink pajamas so that she will at least be warm at night in her bed. I think I would have nipped this with the two oldest girls. I would have made them wear clothes on all our errands.  But there has been so much more joy watching her enjoy herself during this stage.  When else will you be able to wear sparkles and feathers and tulle? Makes me wish I could go back and enjoy the first two girls in each of these stages again.

 

3 Responses to “Even a princess…”

  1. Nan-Nan, Mary, Mary Agnes Says:

    Lucy looks like she might need a tool belt based on the hammer in the last picture. I also love the fact that she wears ruby red slippers and sometimes her cowboy boots with those princess dresses. It is fun to watch her as she lives her life as a princess. I think children make us take a minute to look back at the grand scheme of things to see what is truly important in life. Love your stories.

  2. zellner Says:

    so true mary. Today Lucy asked me where “Nee Nee” was. It took me a minute to realize that she meant “Nan Nan” 🙂 You are loved in this house 🙂

  3. Nan-Nan, Mary, Mary Agnes Says:

    It was my pleasure. “Nee-Nee” is rathering scary to think about. That little girl on Toddlers and Tiaras calls her pacifier her “nee-nee”.


Leave a Reply

