miles to go…

snippets from the zellner family

Am I already embarrassing my children? April 18, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — zellner @ 11:28 pm

Tonight as I was putting the children to bed, Emma and Olivia were looking through the World Record Book for 2012. They were asking who some of the pictures were in the pop culture records.  Olivia thought one girl was really pretty. I told her that was Beyonce.  About that time, my former dance trance spirit came out and I reminded her of the song that Beyonce sings called “Single Ladies” (if you like it then you should have put a ring on it).  I might have done some of the moves from the video as the girls were putting on their PJ’s.  Emma, who is likely to ask a tough question, attempts to do so with as much tact as she can muster.

She asks,”Mom, has one of your children ever done something that embarrassed you? What did you do about it?”  As soon as it left her lips, I knew what she was saying.  I asked her,”Emma, are you embarrassed of me right now?”  She giggled and I had my first glimpse of the teenage years that are to come.  We laughed at all the ways that I could embarrass her in the future and at how creative she was in forming her question 🙂

Sounds like I will have to tone it down if I am going to be invited to chaperone any future dances for that girl!

 

One Response to “Am I already embarrassing my children?”

  1. Nan-Nan, Mary, Mary Agnes Says:

    Love it. I think we all need to bring out dance the next time we are together. Everyone knows that one! Talk about embarrassing.


Leave a Reply

