miles to go…

snippets from the zellner family

saying goodbye to dance in huntsville May 29, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — zellner @ 11:37 pm

We have been swimming through the days of saying goodbye to so many things and to so many people.  I am popping my head into the blog just to note how it feels.

Last weekend was our last dance recital at North Alabama Dance. I have been so blessed to have my girls under the leadership of the teachers at this studio. Every recital I am so thankful for the quality of the teaching and the commitment to honor the One who gives us the abilities to dance.

  

All three girls were in it this time and we had a lot on our plate to make happen. Rehearsal was Friday night.  So was the graduation from our school in which many of our youth group students were participating. My aunt came to the rescue! She jumped in with both feet to help the Zellners survive the weekend and we had a blast! All three girls had to be ready to practice in full makeup/costumes by 4:45 that afternoon. We watched Emma practice, then Lucy practice, then I went to WCA graduation, then I returned to see Olivia practice. Mary hung out with the Olivia the whole time and was such a blessing!  We finished up that night about 10:00.

Saturday was the actual recital. Lucy and Olivia danced in the matinee.

 

Mary took Olivia and I took Lucy!

We dashed to McDonald’s between recitals. Emma and Olivia danced in the evening performance- Mary took Olivia and I took Emma.

  

My mom came up for both shows, while my cousin Meredith, my aunt sallye and my uncle tom made it to the evening show. It was so much fun getting to visit and having them there made me so grateful for my family.

The finale was to “God of the City” by Chris Tomlin. The dancers wore all white and the studio sweetly let Olivia’s voice be used to read one of the verses that went along with the production.  It was the perfect verse to sum up this time in our lives and to hear her voice say it was a special reminder that He knows what we are doing right now.

There is a time for everything,
and a season for every activity under the heavens:

a time to be born and a time to die,

a time to plant and a time to uproot,

a time to kill and a time to heal,

 a time to tear down and a time to build,

a time to weep and a time to laugh,

a time to mourn and a time to dance.
Olivia’s verse was only part of this section, but to look back at the whole section reminds me there is a time for planting and a time to uproot. There is a time for us to weep and a time for us to laugh. There will be times for us to mourn and times for us to dance. And most of the time I feel all of these things at the same time. I am equally excited about our future as I am sad to leave our past.  The dancers ended by looking up- as if they were staring into the face of our God.

That is where I need to gaze right now as well because there is no one like our God and greater things have yet to be done in both Huntsville and Indianola.

 

2 Responses to “saying goodbye to dance in huntsville”

  1. Nan-Nan, Mary, Mary Agnes Says:

    Love!

  2. Mary (Mary Frances) Says:

    Such a thoughtful and godly perspective on this important transition. Wishing all of you the best as you close this door and open the new one before you.


Leave a Reply

