miles to go…

snippets from the zellner family

double digits June 5, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — zellner @ 11:53 pm

Olivia is turning 10 next week. We have been planning for at least three years to have her ears pierced for her 10th birthday. We’ve talked about it for so long~ I can’t believe that the time has finally arrived. Since we are moving next week, we decided to celebrate her birthday earlier. All along, I planned to take her myself and spend the day with her somewhere special, spend the night in a hotel, have lots of time to share our hearts and do things that she may like. We did exactly that and it was wonderful!

 (getting ready to go in )

Livy usually gets sick at the sight of blood or when she gets hurt. I was a little nervous what she would do when they pierced her ears. She was a little nervous, but much better than I thought she would feel.

    (ready, set, pierce!)

 I knew we were OK when she let them do her other ear. 🙂

We drove to Birmingham and checked into the Winfrey. They were so sweet to her when we arrived. They gave us two tokens to use at the carousel in the mall and a “Happy Birthday” balloon.

   

We shopped and I realized that I don’t have a little girl anymore. We had a great time trying on clothes and I loved watching her choose wisely what she wanted to spend her birthday money on.

 We ate at Lovoy’s- one of my favorite places to eat in Birmingham. This girl loves spaghetti and garlic bread, so she was happy and full when we left.

 We ate breakfast at IHOP the next morning, and I think her eyes were bigger than her stomach. We shopped for Lucy’s birthday and I got to use up a gift card from Christmas. We ended the trip by riding the carousel together.

When you look at a calendar, you see 365 days and think there is tons of time- so many days in the week, so many hours in the day, so many minutes to fill.  But somehow that big number shrinks the older I get. I feel like there are not enough- I want more days with these kids, more hours like these, more minutes to make memories and listen to them and enjoy them. I know it gets harder the older they get- I hear parents lament the attitudes of their teenagers- and I long for these kids to be different than that. I want sweet days with them; I want easy relationships with them. What will the future hold for these children? How will our relationships change?  This season is sweet and I have enjoyed olivia so much. I pray that each season is sweeter than the one before. How thankful I am for the privilege of parenting.

 

 

4 Responses to “double digits”

  1. Paula Says:

    Beautiful! What precious memories!

  2. Carlin Says:

    What a great post! It’s so hard to believe that Olivia is almost 10 years old! Where did the time go?! I know she is so excited to have her ears pierced … a 10 year old tradition Charlotte started for us 🙂 Love the pictures of her trying on clothes at the mall, too. She is so grown up and looks so cute in those skinny jeans! I bet she loves them. Love you and miss you!

  3. Nan-Nan, Mary, Mary Agnes Says:

    I love my one-on-one time with my girls. Having quality time with each of them is still a highlight for me. Olivia handled the ear piercing better than anyone I have ever seen. I agree with Carlin, love those skinny jeans! And accessories make an outfit…scarf and earrings. Hope this week goes well for you. The offer still stands if you need a place to rest your head after vacation. Love you all.

  4. zellner Says:

    Skinny jeans~ I love them on her, I just can’t believe that she is wearing big kid clothes 🙂 It literally felt like she grew up in one day- after the earrings, skinny jeans, new haircut- I can’t believe the difference!


Leave a Reply

