miles to go…

snippets from the zellner family

A ring is not the marriage June 22, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — zellner @ 10:50 pm
Tags: ,

I lost the diamond out of my wedding ring and noticed today. Who knows how long ago or where I was. It was a beautiful ring, given to me by a wonderful man. I never took it off. 

But a ring is not a marriage. After we had been looking around for awhile today and we realized it was probably gone forever, one of my children asked me if I was still married to dad. Wedding rings are that significant- they show our covenant before God and others that we will be in this relationship for better or for worse, in plenty and in want, in sickness and in health, til death do us part. But they don’t actually keep the covenant for us. The Lord helps us be faithful to that promise and the covenant cannot be broken just because that ring is off my finger.

Tonight I know of a very special lady who has been fighting cancer and whose time on earth is coming to a close. I remember hospice being called on for Julie and my heart breaks for this family that will lose a mom and wife too soon. Here is a family who has been living the covenant out before our eyes. Who knows if there were rings on her finger or not.

Rings are so insignificant in light of real loss. Tonight I am still enjoying all that the ring symbolizes and it is so good. Hug your family a little tighter tonight and thank God for the time you have with them. 

 

Leave a Reply

