miles to go…

snippets from the zellner family

sweet gifts in the Delta June 29, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — zellner @ 11:14 am
Tags: , ,

I have much to catch up on about our move and the wonderful welcome we have received in the Delta, but I thought I would post one example from yesterday. The kids and I drove the mile to the downtown area of Indianola and “ran errands”. I stopped at Abraham’s first- an awesome clothing store filled with beautiful clothes for men and women, monogrammed gifts, and Vera Bradley bags.  We bought a gift for someone and had it monogrammed. We walked a couple of doors over to Paul’s jewelry and took my diamond and ring to get fixed.  The kids petted the dog that stays in the shop while I sat down with the jeweler. He is going to make it look great and it will be clean, just as pretty as the day Eric gave it to me!

The next stop was next door to the jeweler- The Carriage House. This store is filled with everything I love. China, stationery, monogrammed gifts, rugs, things from the market in Atlanta.  In the back they display the china patterns of the local brides- It made me want to choose all over again. One of my large oval platters broke during the move (the moving company will be replacing that) and I can pick up the replacement at this store.

While we were there, the owner of the store visited with us and was so kind. As we were leaving, she gave the kids their pick of a drink koozy from the clearance table.  We found a koozy monogrammed with an E for Emma Frances, a Z for Lucy Zellner, a G for Olivia (her middle name is Grace and my maiden name is Grainger) and Cord got a Christmas one that said “Ho Ho Ho”.  Our errands took 30 minutes and my children were having the time of their lives!

We went to Walmart after that and filled our new koozies with their favorite drinks!

 

3 Responses to “sweet gifts in the Delta”

  1. jennifer Says:

    so fun! it’s like Auburn, a little village! Can’t wait to see you!

  2. Nan-Nan, Mary, Mary Agnes Says:

    Sounds delightful.

    • Dot zellner Says:

      So excited to hear of the wonderful small towm blessings in Indianola. Brings back memories we had as children.


Leave a Reply

