miles to go…

snippets from the zellner family

so it will happen February 28, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — zellner @ 1:55 pm
Tags: , ,

I have had three very devastating situations come to people we know and love this week. The kind of news where there are no words- just tears. The kind of heartwrenching, unstoppable, life-altering kind of news. My mind flies to a million places and I hurt for their hearts as they process the news that each of them has received. It is such a raw, vulnerable place to be in. What do we do in the face of the unstoppable pain when it is headed our way?

As soon as one of the ladies woke up from her surgery and heard her terrible prognosis, she answered, “Surely as I have planned, so it will be, and as it has purposed, so it will happen.” A beautiful quote about God’s sovereignty from Isaiah 14:24- one that takes much maturity to utter in light of the devastating news.

There will be no hurry through these painful times for these sweet friends, but I will pray on their behalf that the Lord will grant them softness of heart, an ability to cling to Him, a right anger at Death and a heart of hope in our Good God.

1. God is good (psalm 119:68, psalm 136:1)

2. God loves me and wants me to have His best (Romans 8:32, 38-39)

3. God can be trusted (Isaiah 28:16)

4. God doesn’t make any mistakes (Isaiah 46:10)

5. God’s grace is sufficient for me. (2 Corinthians 12:9)

6. Through the power of the Holy Spirit, God will enable me to do anything He commands me to do (1 thessalonians 5:24 philippians 2:13)

7. God’s word is sufficient to lead me, teach me, and heal me (psalm 19:7, psalm 107:20, psalm 119:105)

**These are reminders from a book by Nancy DeMoss. They are truths that I must repeat when lies tempt me not to trust the Lord and they are what I am praying for those who are hurting right now.

 

4 Responses to “so it will happen”

  1. Roxanne Says:

    It has been a tough week for many people. Thanks for sharing and reminding us that God’s grace IS sufficient for all the trials, all the tribulations, that come our way!

  2. Prayers for faith and hope in the midst of pain for all these people/families. God’s comfort and peace are so sweet, especially when we are hurting. Valarie M.

  3. Cynthia Says:

    Thank you for sharing this in your sweet, sensitive way. Without going into details, you remind us all of the sovereignty of God and that his promises are true. Thank you my friend for always pointing to Jesus in the way you live your life.

  4. Kristi Says:

    I needed to hear this today, as a dear friend has had some tragic news. How fitting that these words of truth would come from one of the wisest, dearest friends that I have been blessed to know. xo


Leave a Reply

