miles to go…

snippets from the zellner family

i am going to get fired April 16, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — zellner @ 9:09 am
Tags: ,

by my children- for making unreliable costumes for their musicals.

Cord was the rooster in his school musical E-I-E-I-Oops. The set was precious! Moms and dads made a barn scene and fence posts with corn growing up the poles. It was a perfect setting. Some of the kids were farmers, some were cows, or chicks or mice. Cord was a rooster. I immediately wished I knew how to sew (how many times has that thought gone through my mind? Why didn’t I take Home Ec!)

Cord has not always loved being in plays- Last year he was Joseph in his school’s Christmas play and you may remember he growled and snarled at me from the stage, saying,”Quit taking my picture.”

DSC_0313Thankfully this costume was provided and put on by his teacher 🙂

So planning for this play I got online and ordered a mask- I was thinking that he might feel more confident if he was hidden behind the mask- and it ended up being the only part of the costume that didn’t fall apart!

I bought a white thermal long sleeve tshirt and found his white baseball pants. I bought red flannel squares for his legs and tucked them up in the baseball pants. I bought three white boas and wrapped them all over his top and tucked them in (that was the fatal mistake 🙂 )

DSC_0808

I dropped him off at class and took a few photos with his buddies.

DSC_0810

 

I left him with the instructions to be very careful because those boas could unwrap if he were too crazy. I head to the gym, anxious that he will be a naked little chicken on stage.

As his class walks in to go up on stage, I see that he is holding all the boas. I run over to the corner, rewrap and tuck, and send him on his way, now knowing there will be a naked chicken on stage at some point.

DSC_0814

I sit through the show, begging the boas to stay put, and he makes it through his speaking part at the microphone fully dressed 🙂 But during the second half of the show, I see his boas slowly begin to unwrap. Thankfully he does not have to go anywhere and they slowly unravel on to the bleacher that he is standing on.

DSC_0825

 

This greets me after the show…an armful of rooster costume.  Must.Learn.To.Sew. (or at least use safety pins!!)

 

 

 

One Response to “i am going to get fired”

  1. Nan-Nan, Mary, Mary Agnes Says:

    I never learned to sew…and I should have. Hot glue guns are the best. E6000 glue works well too. And, don’t buy cheap safety pins, they will pop open. Enough said!


Leave a Reply

