miles to go…

snippets from the zellner family

Remembering April 18, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — zellner @ 1:36 pm
Tags: , , ,

The Lord is already lifting my funk I was in about my birthday. After a good week of processing why I was in my funk, I came out on the other side seeing what contributed and that has helped so much. Good friends and I talked- good advice was shared with me and stories of similar feelings were shared. How sweet of the Lord to bring those people to me by facebook messages, phone calls or email.

For several weeks I have been pondering the word “Remember” and its connection to Gratitude. Many times in Scripture, both Old and New Testaments, we see the Lord tell his people to remember what He has done for them. He calls them to recall His goodness in setting them free- He reminds them of how He provided for them or how He kept His word to them. He is often speaking to a people who have strayed from Him or who are grumbling or complaining- sometimes He is speaking to those who must face a daunting task and who must trust Him for what lies ahead. Either way, the remedy to their problem is remembering past faithfulness and trusting Him for what lies ahead.

Psalm 143:5 I remember the days of old; I meditate on all that you have done; I ponder the work of your hands.

Psalm 77:11 I will remember the deeds of the Lord; yes, I will remember your wonders of old.

Job 36:24 Remember to extol his work, of which men have sung.

Nehemiah 4:14 And I looked and arose and said to the nobles and to the officials and to the rest of the people, “Do not be afraid of them. Remember the Lord, who is great and awesome, and fight for your brothers, your sons, your daughters, your wives, and your homes.”

1 Chronicles 16:12 Remember the wondrous works that he has done, his miracles and the judgments he uttered

Joshua 1:13 Remember the word that Moses the servant of the Lord commanded you, saying, ‘The Lord your God is providing you a place of rest and will give you this land.’

Deuteronomy 15:15You shall remember that you were a slave in the land of Egypt, and the Lord your God redeemed you; therefore I command you this today.

Deuteronomy 8:2 And you shall remember the whole way that the Lord your God has led you these forty years in the wilderness, that he might humble you, testing you to know what was in your heart, whether you would keep his commandments or not.

Exodus 13:3 [ The Feast of Unleavened Bread ] Then Moses said to the people, “Remember this day in which you came out from Egypt, out of the house of slavery, for by a strong hand the Lord brought you out from this place.

I am going to remember 40 faithful moments that the Lord has done- 40 faithful provisions or freedoms that He provided.  We have to remember because we forget so easily. We have to recall what is true so that we don’t paint false pictures of our lives- Remembering is tied to Gratitude and it ministers to our hearts. 40 moments of grace.

 

3 Responses to “Remembering”

  1. Kristi Says:

    Love this! Love you! Yay for 40!

  2. Cynthia Says:

    Sweet friend, your writing always speaks to my heart. Thank you for this post and sharing your life in this way.

  3. Julie Says:

    Beautifully said!!


Leave a Reply

