miles to go…

snippets from the zellner family

Valentine’s 2014 February 14, 2014

Filed under: Uncategorized — zellner @ 10:30 pm
Tags: , ,

What a strange week it has been- snow, sickness, valentine’s day. That means a lot of kids at home, a lot of messy house, and a lot of thwarted plans.

But tonight we are getting things back together and we celebrated Valentine’s by doing what we always do…dinner, fun foods and our love notes to one another.

This dinner I was thinking about all the cute valentine ideas out there that I didn’t get to use and I decided to serve food that we could use some of those fun valentine wishes… like a tableful of candy heart messages.

DSC_0310 DSC_0312 DSC_0313 DSC_0314

We ate ribs and caught up on everyone’s valentine’s parties and social life.

DSC_0319 DSC_0320 DSC_0322 DSC_0325

We finished by sharing the things we love about each other- Getting to tell Cord how proud I am of him for praying to receive Jesus this past Monday- and how much I love his wrestling that turns into hugs and how proud I am of his effort at school and during homework time. Getting to tell Lucy how much I love our times at pick up when she climbs in my lap and we laugh and sing together and how funny she is and how much I love her optimism. Getting to tell Emma Frances how proud I am of her for doing her best at school, how much I appreciate her work on honesty and how much I love how she processes every situation, how creative she is and how much fun we have cooking together. Getting to tell Olivia how proud I am of who she is becoming, her sensitivity to the Lord’s work in her life, and all her help that she provides for our home. Getting to tell Eric that I am so thankful for how he makes me coffee every morning and unloads the dishwater and keeps children so that I can see my friends, how he pursues truth and learning and how he is so faithful and obedient in the mundane- the real stuff…And I get to hear my little ones tell each other how thankful they are for each other.

I have to say one of my favorites this year was when Lucy told her daddy,”Even though you are you, I still love you.” classic lucy line.

 

One Response to “Valentine’s 2014”

  1. Amanda Says:

    I love how you guys celebrate Valentine’s! I would like to do the love letters tradition in the future (though I really shouldn’t wait till then!) I’m so happy to hear about how the Lord is working in your children’s lives. So sweet.


Leave a Reply

